Place of activity of Brother Klaus and Dorothee Wyss

Flüeli-Ranft

The memorial to Niklaus von Flüe, also known as Brother Klaus, is located in Flüeli-Ranft. Located directly on the Way of St. James, this place of power has an intense, mystical and serene aura. A gem of mysticism, spirituality and nature.

Niklaus von Flüe was born in 1417. After a successful life in work, family and society, at the age of 50 he moved to the nearby Ranft, a hillside terrace in the Melchaatobel near Flüeli in the canton of Obwalden. He lived there for 20 years, praying, fasting, reflecting and receiving more and more visitors. The wooden hermitage is nestled between steep hills.

On foot

Walks & hikes around Flüeli-Ranft

This gem with its streams, fragrant forests and flower meadows is perfect for exploring on foot.

The path of visions

The Path of Visions, or Vision Trail, is both a hiking trail and a meditation trail and begins thematically in Flüeli at the birthplace of Brother Klaus and ends in the burial chapel in Sachseln.

3.4 km | ca. 1h

Circular hike Flüeli-Ranft

Niklaus von Flüe is one of the most influential figures in Swiss history. The circular walk takes you past the places where he worked as a man, mediator and mystic.

8.1 km | ca. 3h

Sachsler Höhenweg

The Sachsler Höhenweg is a very scenic hike and perfect when there is still snow at higher altitudes. It leads from Flüeli-Ranft via the geographical center of Obwalden to Giswil.

12.8 km | ca. 4h

Bruderklausenweg

The Bruderklausenweg leads from Stans to Flüeli-Ranft and on to Sachseln. On this path, Heimo Amgrund rode into the Ranft on the night of December 21/22, 1481 and brought the advice of Brother Klaus to the Tagsatzung in Stans, which brought peace.

20.1 km | ca. 6h
Backgrounds

Guided tours through Füeli-Ranft

Niklaus von Flüe and his wife Dorothee Wyss still move and touch people in their innermost being today. A guided tour of their most important places of remembrance in Sachseln in Flüeli and Ranft offers the opportunity to rediscover the timeless core messages.

Public tours

On this free public tour, you will learn interesting and astonishing facts about Brother Klaus and his worldwide work as a peacemaker and get to know his wife Dorothee Wyss and the pilgrimage sites better. The tours are conducted in German. Reservations are not necessary.

Guided tours for groups

The mystic and mediator Niklaus von Flüe and his wife Dorothee Wyss have left their mark in various places. Guided tours are offered in German, French, Italian, Spanish and English at the pilgrimage site of Sachseln, Flüeli-Ranft, in Stans and in the city of Lucerne.

Publicly accessible

Witnesses of time

The hermit in the Ranft touched the people of his time to their very core. Men and women traveled from near and far to seek advice and comfort from Brother Klaus, as he was now known. This bond and strength continues to this day. Today, the places where he lived and worked are open to the public.

Flüeli Chapel

Built in 1614-18 at the top of the Flüeli rock, the chapel was consecrated to St. Charles Borromeo in 1618. The chapel contains magnificent inlays and a richly painted wooden ceiling and is very popular as a wedding chapel. Church services are also held here on a regular basis.

  • Opening hours

The birthplace has had an eventful history. The late medieval log building was given its current floor plan around 1425 when it was converted and extended into a semi-detached house. As fragments of the foundation walls of a small previous building were found in the cellar, it can rightly be assumed that Niklaus von Flüe was born in this house in 1417.

The birthplace was inherited by the family of Brother Klaus until 1729. It then passed into the hands of others and was divided into three parts. In the second half of the 19th century, the Flüeli-Ranft Chapel Foundation bought the house back. From 1875 to 1910 it served as a schoolhouse. In 1925, an attempt was made to restore the building to its original form using old wood. The furnishings are intended to give visitors an understanding of the living culture of Niklaus von Flüe at the time. This state was largely respected during the most recent restoration in 1999/2000.

  • Opening hours

He lived with his family in the house built by Niklaus von Flüe himself in the Schibloch-Matte on the way to the Ranft until he left to live as a hermit in 1467.

The house remained in the von Flüe family until the beginning of the 19th century, but was badly damaged by clumsy alterations. Since the end of the 19th century, it has belonged to the Catholics of the canton of Fribourg and the canton of Obwalden. Before Brother Klaus was canonized, the house was professionally restored in 1946. Most of the interior decoration was recreated at that time based on pictures in Diebold Schilling's chronicle.

On the meadow next to the house, Pope John Paul II celebrated a mass with 11,000 participants during his trip to Switzerland on June 14, 1984. The living room served as a sacristy, which is why a plaque with the Pope's blessing and signature hangs on the wall as a memento.

  • Opening hours

The Ranft is a place of silence, prayer and strength - inextricably linked with Brother Klaus. The Ranft also stands for the break in his biography, for Niklaus von Flüe's decision to live a different life - in dialogue with God.

Here he lived as a hermit, mystic and highly esteemed advisor. In the Ranft, he prayed, fasted, reflected and became a peacemaker

  • Opening hours
Brother Klaus

The podcast

Niklaus von Flüe, mystic, peacemaker and visionary, has left his mark on Switzerland to this day. In impressive conversations with exciting guests, the podcast sheds light on his life, his spirituality and the significance of his wife Dorothee Wyss - then and now. A journey to values, faith and humanity right in the heart of Switzerland.

The podcast takes you deeper into the world of Brother Klaus and Dorothee Wyss. It tells of their decisions, their courage and their lasting inspiration for our time. Step by step, a multi-layered picture emerges of two people whose journey is still moving today - and inspires us to reflect on our own lives.

Puzzle fun

Mission Klaus

Discover the story of the Ranfteremite Brother Klaus and his wife Dorothee in a fun way. Ten tricky missions challenge your mind and spirit. Equipped with your own smartphone, the "Klaus Sack" and around 2 hours of time, nothing stands in the way of the puzzle experience.

Recover

Accommodation in Flüeli-Ranft

You can literally feel the peace and security around Flüeli-Ranft - and this naturally has a positive effect on your sleep.

Art Nouveau Hotel Paxmontana

Hotel Klausenhof

Ranft Center

Juhui Flüeli-Ranft

Guesthouse & Bethany Monastery

Paxmontana Inn

Everything at a glance

Flüeli-Ranft at a glance

Question and answer

FAQ Flüeli-Ranft

What is Flüeli-Ranft known for?

Flüeli-Ranft is an important place of pilgrimage and remembrance in the canton of Obwalden.
Niklaus von Flüe (Brother Klaus), the Swiss national saint, lived here. The area combines history, spirituality and impressive nature.

The most important sights include Brother Klaus' house, the Ranft Gorge with the hermitage, the Ranft chapels and various historical paths and viewpoints.

Flüeli-Ranft is closely linked to the life of Niklaus von Flüe, who lived here as a hermit.
The place still attracts pilgrims and guests interested in culture from Switzerland and abroad.

Flüeli-Ranft is easy to reach, whether by car or by public transport:

By train & post bus:

  • Flüeli-Ranft liegt nahe am Bahnhof Sachseln, der mit der Zentralbahn/SBB direkt ab Luzern in ca. 20–30 Minuten erreichbar ist.
  • Vom Bahnhof Sachseln bringt dich die PostAuto-Linie 351 bequem vom Bahnhof in etwa 15–20 Minuten direkt nach Flüeli-Ranft.

By car:

  • Flüeli-Ranft liegt oberhalb von Sachseln im Herzen der Schweiz.
  • Die Zufahrt erfolgt über die A8 bis Sachseln, dann weiter Richtung Flüeli-Ranft.
  • Es gibt Parkmöglichkeiten im Zentrum

Barrier-free access to the ranch:

  • Der Ranft mit den unteren Ranftkapellen kann von gehbehinderten Personen mit dem Ranftmobil erreicht werden.
  • Das Ranftmobil ermöglicht eine erleichterte Zufahrt in die Ranftschlucht und den Zugang zu den Kapellen.

Yes, Flüeli-Ranft can be reached via various hiking and pilgrimage trails. Flüeli-Ranft is on the Way of St. James.
Walks between Flüeli-Ranft, St. Niklausen and the Ranft (the chapels in the gorge) are popular.

Yes, Flüeli-Ranft is also suitable for families with children, especially for quiet excursions in nature.
Short walks, nature experiences and the history of Brother Klaus with the Mission Klaus theme trail can be discovered in a child-friendly way.

Yes, people with reduced mobility can also visit the Ranft and the lower Ranft chapels. The Ranft-Mobil is available for this purpose - an assisted electric vehicle that takes guests safely into the Ranft Gorge.

The Ranft-Mobil was specially developed to tackle the steeply sloping paths to the Ranft, which are too challenging for many people. Volunteer guides drive the vehicle and ensure a safe journey to the chapels and other places of power.

  • Fahrten finden in der Regel von Frühling bis Herbst statt.
  • Eine Reservation im Voraus ist zwingend notwendig.

Thanks to this offer, older people and people with walking disabilities or wheelchairs can also visit the Ranft and experience the places of pilgrimage.